Central Indexing (UCC)

The Central Indexing System is a computer system containing Uniform Commercial Code (UCC), Central Notice (CNS), agricultural statutory liens and notices, miscellaneous statutory liens, and state and federal tax liens filed online with the Secretary of State's office. 

On March 1, 2016, the North Dakota Secretary of State’s office launched its new Central Indexing System (CIS). State law now requires that all central indexing filings and search requests be completed online. Paper filings and search requests are no longer accepted by the state or county filing offices.

A statewide perfection of a loan may be obtained by completing the filing in the online North Dakota Central Indexing System (NDCIS). The debtor's social security number or federal employer identification number is required to complete the filing. There are six separate databases in which filing information can be maintained and searched.

  1. Uniform Commercial Code Index (UCC)
  2. Farm Products Central Notice Index (CNS)
  3. Statutory Lien Index (MSL)
  4. Agricultural Statutory Lien Notice Index (ASL)
  5. Federal Lien Index
  6. State Tax Lien Index

Revised Article 9


Revised Article 9 (RA9) became effective in North Dakota on July 1, 2001. As a result, significant changes occurred under RA9 of the Uniform Commercial Code. Chapter 5 of RA9 deals specifically with filing and the filing officer's responsibilities.

For additional information on Revised Article 9 or its implementation in North Dakota, please contact the Central Indexing Unit of the Secretary of State’s office:

Central Indexing (UCC) Unit
Telephone Number: (701) 328-3662
Toll-Free: (800) 352-0867, option 5
Fax: (701) 328-4214
Email: sosci@nd.gov