How to Renew a Contractor's License

The application for a certificate of renewal must be submitted to the Secretary of State on or before March 1 of each year. In order to obtain a certificate of renewal, the following must be completed.

  1. File with the Secretary of State a Contractor License Renewal Application (available through the Business Records Search), which includes:
    1. A listing of each project, contract, or subcontract completed by the licensee during the preceding calendar year in North Dakota over the amount of $25,000 per job;
    2. The nature of the work of each project, contract, or subcontract; and
    3. A certification (contained in #14 on the renewal application) that the applicant has submitted all payroll taxes including North Dakota income tax, workers' compensation premiums, and unemployment insurance premiums due at the time of renewal.
  2. A certificate of insurance indicating liability coverage as proof that the applicant has secured liability insurance.
  3. The appropriate filing fee made payable to the Secretary of State. Visa, MasterCard and Discover are also accepted.
    Renewal Fees
    Class Contract Amount Renewal Fee
    Class A Over $500,000 per job $90
    Class B Up to $500,000 per job $60
    Class C Up to $300,000 per job $45
    Class D Up to $100,000 per job $30
If the license renewal application is filed after the deadline of March 1, state law requires the payment of a penalty fee. This penalty fee must be submitted along with the requirements listed above.
Penalty Fees
Class Contract Amount Penalty Fee Total Due After March 1
Class A Over $500,000 per job $50 $140
Class B Up to $500,000 per job $50 $110
Class C Up to $300,000 per job $50 $95
Class D Up to $100,000 per job $50 $80